Visit our sponsors

Tom Ward a man wearing a ball cap smiles Marcia Salm Hanna Edelglass
Past President:
Tom Ward
Acting President:
Jerry Corfman
Vice President:
Marcia Salm
Scott Umland
Press Secretary:
Hanna Edelglass
Past Presidents: Gene Weyer, John S. Durbrow
Richard Blashka, Dir, Gass Lake
Steve Bosiacki, Dir, English Lake
Robert Christian, Dir, Horseshoe Lake
Dan Dufek, Harpt and Tuma Lakes
John S. Durbrow, Dir, Lake Michigan
Ron Gerrits, Dir, Bullhead Lake
Jerry Gospodarek, Dir, Pigeon Lake
Chuck Kiehn, Dir, Long Lake
Josh Knuth, Dir, Cedar Lake
(Cedar alternates: Phil Knauf, Richard Jens)
Jaret Paltzer, Dir, Silver Lake
Tom Payne, Dir, Wilke Lake
Brian Robley, Dir, Carstens Lake
Gene Weyer, Dir, Hartlaub Lake


Meet the Officers for 2021

Jerry Corfman (bio coming soon)

Tom Ward was the Department Director for the Manitowoc County Soil & Water Conservation Dept. for 32 years, retiring in 2008 to work as an Aquatic Invasive Species Coordinator for MCLA thru the end of 2017. He has also worked in County Zoning Departments and graduated from UWSP with a degree in Natural Resource Management.

Tom has a long history with MCLA. Helping to find a solution in 1997 to turn the aerators on Carstens and Weyers lake, he organized the Manitowoc County Lakes Association with a small group of conservationists and sportsman in the community. For the past 20 years, he has served an advisor to the MCLA directors.

During his employment with Manitowoc County, Tom organized shoreland restoration demonstrations on numerous lakes. He also developed a County Lakes Classification System for the County that Classified Lakes in three separate Zoning Classes based on the Lakes degree of developed shoreline. As the Soil & Water Conservation Dept. Director he persuaded the County Board to hold a public referendum to pass the first Manure Spreading Ordinance in Wisconsin that prohibited winter application of animal waste within a 1000 ft. of a lake and 300 feet of a stream; and required animal waste expansions over 500 animal units to obtain a County permit.

Tom has facilitated the development of numerous Citizen Organizations in the County such as the Friends of the Branch River, the Manitowoc County Lakes Association, Watershed monitors, and Conservation Education Inc.

Marcia Salm has been a property owner on Carstens Lake since 2011. Carstens Lake residents are a close neighborly group who share a deep concern for the health of the lake. From these residents Marcia has learned the history of the lake and how the water quality has changed over the years. By kayaking, she has experienced how invasive species are a detriment to fully enjoying water activities. Under the guidance of Brian Robley, Director of Carstens Lake, she has learned the value of maintaining the boat cleaning station and the importance of keeping the boat landing area clean. She is looking forward to using Tom Ward’s training as an Aquatic Invasive Species monitor.

Scott Umland has been an independent insurance agent since 1977. Scott and his wife Jane purchased a property on Wilke Lake in 2011 and now call Wilke Lake their home. Scott enjoys many outdoor activities and learned about the importance of MCLA by attending MCLA meetings and having discussions with others involved. This created the interest in becoming more active in MCLA.

Hanna Edelglass has lived locally on Lake Michigan since 2014. In an effort to connect with others and help preserve our beautiful surroundings, she began attending MCLA meetings, sending announcements and summaries of our meetings to local papers and WPR. She has two sons and a daughter, all living in the watershed area of the Great Lakes.


Updated: September 8, 2021 — 5:01 pm